Birthday Present: My Lakers Hangover

I bought both game 6 and game 7 of last year’s NBA Finals on Itunes during the 2010-2011 NBA season.  I thought that I would always love to watch them no matter what happened this season.  I was wrong.

I haven’t written anything in a while, it is my co-author’s birthday today, my present is this article.  I call it; My Lakers Hangover.

I can’t bring myself to watch those games anymore.  I know we beat Boston, and I know we can’t win every single year, but I’m still somewhat disturbed about the Lakers 2010-11 season.  It may be Andrew Bynum saying the team has “trust issues“, it may be that they just didn’t win, or it may be that lingering worry my ever-pessimistic co-author planted in my brain… That the Kobe Bryant-led Lakers may be finished winning championships.  Honestly it won’t be the same for be if they sign a superstar free agent and Kobe gracefully fades into retirement, I grew up with Kobe.  Even when Shaq was there, for me it was Kobe.

My Lakers Hangover feels like it did a month after my 7th grade girl friend broke up with me; not as bad as the initial end of the world feeling, but just that ache until I rebounded.  I need a rebound and with the embarrassment that was the Lakers post season and the impending lockout, my hangover persists.

Despite my hangover I am optimistic.  The Lakers are still talented enough to compete for an NBA title and will have a renewed hunger and focus next season.  I don’t think Mike Brown is the next Rudy Tomjanovich for several reasons; he is coaching a veteran team, he is younger and more motivated than Rudy T (who won 2 championships with Houston in 1994 and 1995), and I have convinced myself he can unite the Lakers players kind of like Doc Rivers did in Boston.  I know that’s a whole load of optimism to drop after complaining that I can’t even watch last years finals, but maybe this article was part of my healing process.

Expect another article soon… Promise.  Happy Birthday.

I’m going to watch Game 7.

Leave a comment

Filed under NBA Lockout

Leave a Reply

